Senate President, speaker losses polling units

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan has joined the list of prominent Nigerians who lost their polling units in the ongoing 2023 general elections, as he lost his polling unit in Yobe State to the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

Ahmad Lawan had cast his votes at the Katuzu Primary School polling unit 001B., Gashua in Yobe State in the morning.


Atiku won the polling unit by polling 186 votes while Asiwaju Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 107 votes.

In the Senatorial election, Lawan also lost, polling 114 votes while the PDP senatorial candidate got 219, the New Nigeria’s People Party got 11 votes, African Democratic Congress got a vote and five votes were recorded as invalid.

Meanwhile, Peter Obi of the Labour party beat Tinubu at the polling unit of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila. At the polling unit which is located at Elizabeth Fowler Primary School, Unit 14, Ward G2, Masha-Surulere, Obi pulled a total of 89 votes to defeat Tinubu who had 59 votes while Atiku polled a total of 5 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *